My Profile

Change your cover photo
Change your cover photo
Kate Prangnell
Corporate Social Responsibility CoordinatorEquiniti
This user account status is Approved

This user has not added any information to their profile yet.

Unsure what to ask? Why not ask one of the questions on our inspiration list?
Lead Bookseller at Waterstones

While I was at Uni I got a job as a Bookseller at Waterstones, and I loved it so much I ended up staying for 10 years! All the way through Uni, my Masters degree, and then another 6 years. I love reading and people, so it was the perfect job for a long time.

Trainee RE Teacher

After 10 years I thought I needed a "proper" job, but I didn't know what that was, so I tried to train as a teacher. Big mistake. Turns out it was a really big leap to go from the bookshop to the classroom, and my confidence wasn't quite where it needed to be.

Tutor, Futures Training

I dropped out of teaching and got a job Tutoring adults in Maths, English, IT and how to find jobs. I loved it!

Job Coach

I loved working with unemployed people so much I took a job just helping people find jobs. It was hard, as I had to get 12 people a job every month, but it taught me to be tougher, and about the world and how lucky I am.

Learning & Development Consultant

In my Job Coach role, I found I was really good at talking to groups of people, and motivating a group, so I got a job with the same company running their Corporate Induction, so welcoming new Job Coaches to the company and showing them how to do the job well.

Employee Relations Advisor, Equiniti

Doing the Induction job showed me the world of HR, so I thought why not give it a go, it looks like I could do it. Equiniti gave me a chance and I spent 3 years supporting the business with things like employee grievances, disciplinaries, business restructures and any redundancies. So, I have seen both ends of the job market!

Corporate Social Responsibility Coordinator
Equiniti

Working for Equiniti I got involved in our Gender Network, and found I loved meeting new people from across the business and just getting involved in stuff. So, when this job was created, I went for it, and because they had already heard of me, I got the job.

I am 37 years old, which is not as old as you think!

I always knew I wanted to be the best I could be, and am very independent. I decided never to get married, and not to have children, as I think there are enough people in the world. Yes I'm a vegetarian and cat lover.

I believe in something called happenstance, which means you try lots of things as a way of getting somewhere. That way you don't have regrets either.

I love interior design, and when I am not at work I am designing what rooms look like, or doing up my own house. Buying my own house without any help was my biggest achievement, and I am now on my third house and third renovation project.

Marketing, advertising and public relations PR

Don't stress about finding a job you will love, just do anything and then see where it leads you. You will naturally end up doing what you are good at, because people can see it and want to make the most of it! Forget "should". If in doubt, say Yes.

My Education
MA Cultural & Critical Theory
University of Brighton
Brighton
BA (Hons) History of Art & Design
PG Cert Career Development & Coaching
Winchester School of Art
Warwick University
Winchester
Warwick
Art, Business Studies, Design and technology, English Language, English Literature, French, History, Mathematics, Statistics 
Neville Lovett Community School, Fareham
Fareham College

I loved Art and English. I was good at those, and at Business Studies. I was a very good student, but I didn't love school. I am a natural worrier, and found school very busy and a bit of a scary place sometimes.

More about me

Influencing, Project Management, Negotiation and Persuading, Communicating, Writing, Being a bit brave

Work experience all the way. I got a Saturday job when I was 15 and no matter how well I did in school, it was work experience which got me where I am today, as it teaches you about being out in the world, and to learn your place in the pecking order.

Everything, and I still do. I wanted to be a painter. A farmer for a while. A fiction writer, a journalist, a lawyer, a teacher. A policewoman. A social worker.

When I was 18 I wanted to go to Art School (which I did) and study painting (which I didn't). My Dad thought that would never earn me a living and because I was a good girl, I listened to him. If I did it again I would ignore him. He would have got over it!

Click here to ask me a question!

Yes No